Everyday Hero

My mate Jon Kok is Running Against Suicide — please donate some dollars if you can:

‘Help me support Suicide Prevention Australia in the Blackmores Sydney Marathon on September 2011.  In September 2010, my friend, the community icon, DJ Mandy Rollins committed suicide. In tribute to this amazing woman, who touched the lives of so many, I am dedicating my effort in the Blackmores Sydney Marathon to her memory.
I have battled with severe depression for many years, and believes that I, too, would have faced suicide if not for a chance encounter when I met the people who inspired me to start running.  When I ran the Sydney Morning Herald Half Marathon in May, one of the things that kept me going was the sense of duty that the donations from generous souls like you gave me.

In that case, thanks to my supporters I raised close to $1000 for the Bobby Goldsmith Foundation, and HIV support. But now, as we near the anniversary of Mandy’s passing, I feel that I need to dedicate this event and my efforts in it to her memory. Your donation can help S.P.A. support suicide prevention, intervention and awareness across Australia. Please dig deep and help prevent tragedies like Mandy’s from happening again in the future.’

About Madame Moselle

Freelance provocateur. Enthusiastic optimist. Dancing bear. Believer. Facilitator of perversion. Disseminator. Libertine. Moth and flame. Rouser of rabble. Stirrer of pots. Bowerbird. Public spectacle.
This entry was posted in Activism and Advocacy, Sydney. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

