If you always do what you’ve always done…

You’ll always get what you’ve always got.

Ah, another day of demoralising job hunting. More rejection emails — not even getting to interview. Times are tough, work is scarce, competition is fierce, blah blah blah.

But I feel its more than that somehow, like I am being told something by the universe. It could just be telling me that my resume is shite, that I don’t look that good even on paper, that I need extra training, that there are zillions of applicants better than me. Or it could be telling me to change tactics entirely, to look in other places, to broaden my horizons and take more leaps into the unknown.

I’m mostly applying for admin jobs, because its all I really have any experience in. Or at least, experience that looks like ‘real work.’ 9+ years of studentdom to (soon) get a doctorate in something that is not-very-vocationally-focussed (fictocritical practice-led dissertation about alternative practices of lactation anyone?, with fill in casual jobs (lots of admin, market research, customer service etc) and scholarships to get me through, plus bits of travel, lots of volunteering and a fair whack of non-paid/or usually lowly paid creative stuff, adds up to a whole heap of… umm… I’m not quite sure what?Fun, yes, life experience, yes, a broad skill base, yes, beautiful encounters with beautiful people across the globe, yes, but in terms of paid employment? Hmm.

Maybe I need to concentrate on what I am good at, and trust that it will lead me where I need to be. Maybe I need to work on more installations, write more, mentor more, explore more. Maybe I need to present at more conferences, perform in more venues, hone my creative skills, and really work with what I am good at. Maybe I’m not good at anything after all, and my attempts at finding more imaginative paid pursuits will be as dismal as my attempts at finding office jobs. But it has to be more interesting, surely?

 

 

About Madame Moselle

Freelance provocateur. Enthusiastic optimist. Dancing bear. Believer. Facilitator of perversion. Disseminator. Libertine. Moth and flame. Rouser of rabble. Stirrer of pots. Bowerbird. Public spectacle.
This entry was posted in Worky Work, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

