Post-PhD Pursuits

Was speaking to the lovely Lilo the other day and telling them how I had a journal stashed somewhere in which I was starting to write ideas for things I wanted to work on post-PhD, and a box of articles to read that I had been holding for then too. Today I came across a document labelled ‘Post-PhD Pursuits’ and decided to have a looksy at what PhD-me imagined post-PhD-me would be up to. Here’s a selection:

* Learn to drive * Finally learn to use the poi sitting on the bookshelf, and possibly to breathe fire * Bake more tasty vegan treats * Sort out the vegie patch * Write up a whole pile of journal articles * Sew * Pay the monster all the money I owe them * Organise my superannuation * Work on book proposals * Make a calendar/greeting cards * Busk as a poet.

Hmm. Technically I guess I am not post-PhD until the thing is done and dusted, but still feel I ought to get a wriggle on with it all. Especially when I also remember plans to:

* Make at least one large installation work a year * Apply for funding to make more of same, including getting some sort of portfolio/website going * Get enough cash together to buy a really spicky camera, get some lessons in how to use it, and gad about Europe taking wondrous arty pix (and making amazing performances with fabulous people) * Start some sort of community project about bullying, and maybe one about sexual violence *Blog more, and not just copy/paste updates but reviews, ponderings, critiques and pretty prose.

Making small steps into some of these, true, but still so much to be done!

About Madame Moselle

Freelance provocateur. Enthusiastic optimist. Dancing bear. Believer. Facilitator of perversion. Disseminator. Libertine. Moth and flame. Rouser of rabble. Stirrer of pots. Bowerbird. Public spectacle.
This entry was posted in Musings, Worky Work, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Post-PhD Pursuits

  1. iz connell says:

    Learning to drive… *shudders* glad to know I’m not the only one who doesn’t do it! x

Leave a Reply

